sunset over Golden Gate Golden Gate Bridge from outside the EDM lab.


Positions Available

From time to time we have Post Doctoral, Post Baccalaureate, Graduate Student Research, Undergraduate Research, consultants, visitor, other, and nontraditional positions available for qualified and highly motivated candidates. Contact Ben Feinberg or Harvey Gould for further information about working with us. Our personnell are typically members or affiliates of the LBNL Accelerator Technology and Applied Physics Division, whose safety and administrative procedures we follow diligently.


Members of our group have been part of more than a dozen successful collaborations,including international collaborations. We have worked with everyone from future Nobel Laureates to High School Physics Teachers. People who can get things done are always in short supply.


Our research is presently funded by the Electron Electric Dipole Moment Research Foundation. Agencies interested in supporting future work, please contact Ben Feinberg or Harvey Gould.

Who we are

Current LBNL Staff (contact)

 Robert Collister
 Ben Feinberg (LBNL)
 Harvey Gould (LBNL)
 Yan Li (LBNL, CSU East Bay)
 Charles Munger Jr. (LBNL)
 Hiroshi Nishimura (LBNL)
 Chris Timossi (LBNL)


 Charlie Cummings (U.C. Berkeley)
 Preston Dicks (U.C. Berkeley)
 Jessica MacFarlane (U.C. Berkeley)
 Yukei Murakami (U.C. Berkeley)
 Ocean Zhou (U.C. Berkeley)


 John Behr (TRIUMF)
Gerald Gwinner (U. Manitoba, TRIUMF)
Ulrich Jentschura (Missouri S&T Univ.)
 Matt Pearson (TRIUMF)


Jason Amini
 Timothy Dinneen
 Gevork Gevorkyan
 James Greer
 Raphaél Jannin
 Seung Jung Jin
 Juris Kalnins
 Chris McConnell
 Shawn Zhao


Our group is a descendent of a thirty-person atomic physics group, formed in the 1950‘s by William Nierenberg, and supported by the Atomic Energy Commission, to measure the the spins and moments of locally-produced radioactive isotopes. Atomic beam magnetic resonance experiments were done both on the U.C. Berkeley campus and at the University of California Radiation Laboratory (later LBNL).

Among the people who received their Ph.Ds in the group were Vernon Ehlers, who served seven terms in the U.S. House of Representatives (R - Michigan) and Steven Chu who served in the Obama Administration as the (12th) U.S. Secretary of Energy.

What we do

Past accomplishments

EDM related

Active members of the electron EDM research group performed the first cold atom EDM experiment. The same fountain was earlier used to make the most precise measurement of the static polarizability of the Cs atom and for electrostatic focusing of Cs atoms. With collaborators in Boulder, we trapped 221Fr produced from a radioactive source.

Previous related experiments include electron EDM limits set using beams of thallium, thallium, and Cs, and the most precise measurements of the tensor polarizabilities within the ground state hyperfine structure in Cs, Rb, K, and Na and thallium.

Our most recent publication, "Placed in a steady magnetic field, the flux density inside a permalloy-shielded volume decreases over hours and days." and published in AIP Advances 8, 035303 (2018) has logged over 900 downloads. (See our related web page).

Calculations of the EDM signal and false EDM signal from electric field quantized Cs and Fr atoms have been published. A calculation of magnetic Johnson noise in metal and glass and its application to EDM experiments has also been published.

Accelerator based atomic physics

Members of the electron EDM research group made the first observation of bare U92+ and made the first measurements of the Lamb shift in heliumlike uranium (U90+) and lithiumlike uranium (U89+). The first experiments to observe bound-free pair production in which the electron of an electron-positron pair created in an atomic collision with a bare nucleus emerges bound as a one-electron atom, were performed by group members at the LBNL Bevalac on 1 GeV/amu bare uranium and bare lanthanum and at the Brookhaven AGS on 11 GeV/amu bare gold. This mechanism was then used with anti-protons at FNAL to produce antihydrogen. Also done at the Bevalac was an experiment that channeled relativistic few-electron U through silicon single crystals.

Accelerator and high energy physics

Accomplishments include development of simulation code for the design and operation of the LBNL Advanced Light Source (ALS), physics design of a diffraction limited upgrade to the ALS and major contributions to the ALS control system hardware and software including the operator interface. A version of the simulation code was used for the conceptual design for an electrostatic storage ring for neutral (strong-field seeking) polar molecules.

Our group includes a former Head of Operations for the LBNL Bevalac and ALS (19 years), and head of the LBNL Safety Review Committee (3 years). Our group includes a former member of the team that built the Mark-II Vertex Drift Chamber at SLAC and subsequently co-author of over a dozen related research papers including the measurements of the Z-boson resonance parameters in e+e- annihilation.

Related work by TRIUMF collaborators

Our collaborators at TRIUMF are using cold trapped Fr atoms to study fundamental symmetries including parity non-conserving nuclear anapole moments. This is being done at a new Fr trapping facility at TRIUMF. They performed the first laser trapping and cooling of francium (at Stony Brook) and have measured isotope shifts in 206-213Fr and 221Fr and nuclear moments and charge radii of neutron-deficient Fr isotopes.